top of page

Say YES to the things that might scare you!

Within the first 3 years of my teaching experience I have had so many wonderful opportunities. Opportunities to learn and to grow as an educator, most of which initially scared me. If I had let my initial fear stand in my way and prevent me from jumping at all of these opportunities, I would only be half the teacher that I am today.

To begin my teaching career I packed up all my belongings and moved to the opposite side of the country. Away from everything and everyone that I had known all my life, in my efforts to gain teaching experience. I always knew I wanted to be a teacher, but finding a teaching position straight out of college is tough! It makes it especially difficult when you are competing against veteran teachers with years of experience. And it certainly didn’t help that my student teaching experience was one of the biggest challenges I have ever faced and left me feeling unsure that I was cutout to be an elementary teacher. But I knew what I had to do, and I was determined to do what it took to get into the classroom.

My very first position was in a middle school teaching migrant students. It was a position I absolutely loved, in a school with wonderful colleagues and a job that I felt comfortable in. I had regained my confidence in teaching and attempted to show that to my students. When I left that position, I did so to gain experience in an elementary classroom. I felt that though my student teaching experience had left me feeling unsure that I was cutout to be an elementary teacher, I had majored in elementary education in college and felt that I needed the chance to see for myself whether I was. Boy am I glad that I did!

I transferred to a new school within the same district into a 3rd grade classroom. I was completely nervous yet so excited of the year that was to come! At my elementary school I have been presented with many opportunities for growth. Each of these opportunities have made me equally nervous, but I have said yes to them all.

I've had the opportunity to be on the accelerated reader committee. A program that I had some initial experience with, but was certainly no expert of any kind in. In turn, this committee has left me with so much more knowledge than I had started with. The opportunity to join the ELA committee. Where I was given the chance to build curriculum and gain a much better depth of understanding of the English Language Arts standards. Because of these opportunities, I am better able to teach my students and understand what the standards are asking of them.

Because our district received a Connect Ed Grant, I’ve had the opportunity to be observed by Apple. At first this completely terrified me! Having Apple representatives come into my room along with many other administrators from throughout the district observe how I was using technology was frightening. However, it gave me the confidence I needed to understand and realize that I am using technology in a way that enhances learning and takes my students learning process much further. Utilizing this, I have been able to create many hands on, engaging and interactive lessons for my students.

The opportunity that has terrified me the most was teaching a course in technology in our district wide technology summit. Having a classroom full of teachers, principals and even the superintendent there to learn ways to make technology engaging in the classroom was completely nerve wrecking, but also so completely amazing! I had teachers asking questions and brainstorming ideas I hadn't even thought of!

Each and every one of these opportunities initially made me second guess myself. They forced me out of my comfort zone and I am so incredibly happy that they and that I was able to say yes to those things that scared me. Teaching is not about staying in your comfort zone; it's about leaping out of it! The learning that takes place when you are faced with challenges is absolutely incredible. Say yes to the opportunities, for they are what make you grow as an educator and in turn, help your students grow each and every day.


bottom of page